Summer in London

Three weeks ago my summerbreak started and I decided to spend the first week of it in the UK to visit two people that I met in Ibiza two months ago! The first few days I visited London and after that I went to Manchester. I had a super early flight (which I nearly missed because I thought the gate would close at 8.40 but it closed 8.20), so I arrived in Notting Hill at 11.30! Which meant I had all day to enjoy the heath in the city.

 

At Notting Hill Gate I met Stefi (it was really good to see her again) and together we made a little walk through Notting Hill (with both our camera’s so we had a looooot of pictures). It was way to warm to walk a long distance AND Stefi didn’t have breakfast so we decided to end our tour at a really good Thai restaurant somewhere at Portobello Road, where the people in the kitchen talked to each other as if they were on the other side of London: they were LOUD, it was insane. But hey we had a lovely lunch/breakfast so my belly was fully satisfied after this little break.

Our cameras did not get a long time to relax since I badly wanted to visit One New Change. This is a shoppingcentre next to the St. Pauls Cathedral and you can get onto their roof FOR FREE. (Yep I did my research and found some really cool pictures on Instagram so I decided my trip to London would not be complete if I did not get myself a picture on that roof terrace.) I have to say: the view was amazing and we had fun doing a photoshoot, BUT being on a roof at 15:00 when it’s 32 Degrees Celsius might not be our best idea ever. (Sleeping in the gardens of the cathedral afterwards was a better idea ๐Ÿ˜€ )

Hello St Pauls, I'm back in LONDON again โ™ฅ #London #view #wanderlust #travel

A post shared by Eveline (@eveline_2) on

Another thing I found during my research was a hidden rooftop bar in Oxford Street. So after sleeping in and visiting Ealing (the place I lived for two months last year – I cannot describe how happy I was being in Ealing), I decided to go visit this rooftop bar! The view was not that nice though, since it was blocked by plants. And if you were to look over these plants, you could only see some buildings and the traffic in Oxfort Street. But the bar itself looked really cool, the people were nice and I enjoyed a beer in the full sun: it was 35 degrees Celsius so I did not stay long…

After this I decided to check out something else: the roofgarden on top of the Queen Elisabeth Hall: a place I did not know of before but I’ve walked passed it sooo many times. I was pretty excited to see it but I was a bit disappointed when I actually saw it. The garden was not taken care of (most of the plants were dead), there were not that many chairs or other things to sit on, and the view was sort of blocked by the big yellow staircase. But at least I tried something new around a place I’ve already seen thousands of times (Southbank).

Even though I thought I knew London pretty well (and some places do feel like home, like the Theatre Cafรฉ), these two days made clear that London has still so many cool new places to offer. So this will definitely NOT be my last visit in London!

IMG-20170620-WA0018

Leave a Reply

