Gallery

Photo Gallery: Malawi (2012)

When I was 16, I went to Uganda. Together with 20 classmates we went there to do volunteering work: we built stoves, houses and friendships. My parents were jealous. So they decided to go to Malawi, two months after my trip to Uganda. It was life changing. Seeing such poor people. They didn’t have ANYTHING. And even though the nature was amazing and breath-taking, the people were even more amazing and breath-taking. We met locals that tried to educate the orphans of their village so that they could get their own job and own house in the future. We met people that were happy with just a balloon. We met people that had nothing but were happy to share their house with us (my youngest sister and I shared a very small bed and my father slept on the ground, but we were só lucky because we felt so welcome).

So seeing these pictures makes me realize that I need to be happy with the things I DO have, instead of being sad about the stuff I don’t have. For instance, I am lucky I have so many friends, I am happy that I’m able to get to get to university to get educated. I am happy that I have so many experiences that shaped me to who I am today. And looking at these pictures of those happy, kind and welcoming people makes me realize that again.

Leave a Reply

